ulmer modelle – modelle nach ulm

ulmer modelle-modelle nach ulm

2003. 208 pages, 259 illustrations, of which 70 in color,
23.80 x 30.00 cm
Soft cover
Hatje Cantz, Stuttgart
EUR 28.00, SFR 48.00 (plus packaging and postage)
Can be ordered from Ulm Museum, Marktplatz 9, 89073 Ulm,
Tel.: +49 (0)731/161-4301
e-mail info.ulmer-museum@ulm.de


ulmer modelle – modelle nach ulm
(ulm models – models after ulm)
Ulm School of Design 1953–68

This publication was recognized as one of the best made books in 2003 by the book design foundation Stiftung Buchkunst.

Marking the fiftieth anniversary of the founding of the Ulm School of Design by Inge Scholl, Otl Aicher, and Max Bill, this lavishly illustrated work pays tribute to the pioneering work of this institution. Taking an antifascist stance as its starting point, the HfG developed the idea that democratic ideals should be integrated into the design process. The products resulting from this socially and environmentally responsible process were durable and functional, accommodating recent developments in politics and technology. This work centers round the school’s pedagogical concept, labeled the Ulm model. Its characteristics were an innovatory systematic design methodology and the development of interdisciplinary teamwork. The HfG helped define what it means to be a professional industrial designer to this day. Tomás Maldonado, who introduced wide-ranging changes to the curriculum in 1958, was the driving force behind the model. Many of those who studied design right up to the closure of the school in 1968 are now themselves teachers of design. Consequently, they are able to carry on the specific design principles of the Ulm model, which could be called “new models after Ulm.” The extent of the school’s influence is clearly shown through examples of design teaching in Asia, North and South America, and India.

Ed: Dagmar Rinker, Marcela Quijano, and Brigitte Reinhardt, Ulm Museum/HfG Archive. Texts by Gui Bonsiepe, Bernhard E. Bürdek, Silvia Fernández, Brigitte Hausmann, William S. Huff, Martin Mäntele, Shutaro Mukai, Sudhakar Nadkarni, Joachim Kaiser, Norbert Kurtz, Bernd Meurer, Marcela Quijano, Wolf Reuter, Dagmar Rinker, Eva von Seckendorff, and Elisabeth Walther.